Lou Reed Thinks He Sucks and He Wants You to Know

Lou Reed and his live LP Rock N Roll Animal. I don’t know where to begin. And if I do begin, I won’t know how to end. Those who know it don’t need to be reminded of its power; those unfamiliar with it, well, the cover certainly hints to its greatness.

I’ll simplify the LP to this: great rock and rock album, bad Lou Reed album.

In the eight years prior to this 1974 LP, Lou had covered a lot of ground artistically, including five years with the Velvet Underground, and he was gaining some steam as a solo performer. The minor chart action of “Walk on the Wild Side” helped a lot, and Lou could have stuck with a NYC-meets-pop routine and had more hits.

But for reasons no one knows for sure, in late ’73, he put together a proto-heavy metal band and gave them carte blanche with his body of work. He put down his guitar and stepped aside, letting the dual-guitar attack of Steve Hunter and Dick Wagner lead the way. Sterling Morrison, Lou’s bandmate in the Velvet Underground, like many others from Lou’s past, was stunned and appalled. “It embodied all the principles of the things we opposed,” he said. “I couldn’t even tell what songs they were. The band was playing over him, around him, and through him.”

However, the LP was very successful commercially and critically. Yet, Lou Reed changes his career path the way we change socks, and by late 1974 he turned his back on that brief chapter of his life. He made an LP called Sally Can’t Dance, which is pretty dull and it did poorly on all fronts. RCA’s reaction in early ’75 was to put out Lou Reed Live, which has more songs from the performance that gave us Rock n Roll Animal. It was a ‘sequel’ of sorts.

Little is known about the making of that second live LP: Did Lou have anything to do with it? Or was it completely RCA’s get-rich-quick scheme? But there’s a clue buried in the album’s finale. You can hear it in this clip. First you’ll hear the end of the album as is, and then you’ll hear it again with a little help from me:

When I first heard this on my cassette player in 1986, I fell out of my bed. I was already a confused teenager, sifting through every VU and Lou Reed lyric, every note, every burst of feedback, searching for meaning, and suddenly I hear someone saying Lou Reed sucks—on a Lou Reed album!

Who is that yelling? Why is it there? I have a theory. I think Lou was gung ho about that tour, that band, the thrill of reminding the fans that they should never take him for granted—but that he got bored, as he was prone to do, and moved on. And he got annoyed when RCA exerted their right to milk it with the follow-up LP.  So, he left the heckler in the mix.

And who is the heckler? Is he real or someone added in? I have a theory about that, too. In 1973, there were very few places that really gave a damn about the Velvet Underground’s body of work. I’m guessing only New York and London. And this concert was recorded in New York—East 14th Street, to be exact—so it’s very likely there were some bohemian VU-loyalists in the crowd, completely offended at what Lou did to those sacred songs. I would buy that one of them would shout out his disapproval.

And where does that get us, besides an overlong blog post? Well, I think it gives us a great example of an artist taking his ambivalences, anger and even self-loathing and putting it out there, cleverly and surreptitiously.

I can assure you, I spent a long night in 1986, playing and rewinding my copy of Lou Reed Live, wondering and wondering, “What are you telling me, Lou…?”

To help the uninitiated get the extent of Lou’s 1973 desecration, I’ve included the Velvet Underground’s 1970 “Sweet Jane,” in all its acoustic glee, and Lou’s power-chord heavy live version, which kickstarts the Rock n Roll Animal LP.

The Velvet Underground – Sweet Jane (3:15, right-click to download)


Lou Reed – Intro/Sweet Jane (7:51, right-click to download)

9 Comments

Filed under Music, Plucked from Obscurity

9 responses to “Lou Reed Thinks He Sucks and He Wants You to Know

  1. I just listened to the entirety of the second version of “Sweet Jane.” Dear lord, that’s bad. Not quite Michael-Bolton’s-version-of-Drift-Away-bad, but in the same ballpark.

    • Wow, Yapelli. Defend James Cameron on one post, diss Lou Reed on the next. I always thought you were a rabble-rouser.

      But you get to the point better than I do (prob. bec. I’m too close to the music for too long). Odds are if you’re predisposed to the original, VU version of “Sweet Jane,” then you’ll think the Rock n Roll Animal version is heresy and garbage.

      However, I heard Rock n Roll Animal about six months before I heard a single VU song. (Back in ’83, about four fifths of their catalog was out of print or very hard to find.) So, for me it was the other way around: when I heard the VU version I was like, “WTF?!”

    • Tony Sorrentino

      Are you totally musically tone deaf the velvets is a great piece of work but the Awesome Intro by Steve Hunter on the live album is stunningly powerfull as are both live albums , I pity anyone that doesnt enjoy listening to the Academy albums as you could be enriched by them , drive you car to them ride your motorbike to them and youll find yourself going a hundred miles an hour, Try to give an honest opinion not what you think other people want you to say, I bet you like Madonna.

      • Every opinion in this post is honest.

        Madonna’s wonderful.

        Your punctuation needs some work.

      • Tony Sorrentino

        You are correct on the puctuation , but I knew you would think madonna has talent, what is she talented at.
        she cant sing does not write any of her hits ( which are dreadful anyway) and cant play a musical instrument . God forbid you should be passing judgement on any musical piece.LOL

    • Tony Sorrentino

      Are you totally tone deaf the velvets version is a great piece of work but the Awesome Intro by Steve Hunter on the live album is stunningly powerfull. As are both live albums I pity anyone that doesnt enjoy listening to the Academy albums, as you could be enriched by them .Drive you car to them, ride your motorbike to them and youll find yourself going a hundred miles an hour.Try to give an honest opinion not what you think other people want you to say, I bet you like Madonna.

  2. I listened to them both again and somehow, I prefer the second version nowadays. Don’t get me wrong, I love the original but it feels like something you enjoy most when you’re younger, it feels less experienced but filled with joyous “I know what’s going on” rebellion. The kind of expression best experienced as a teenager.

    The second version is rougher, sloppier and sometimes has sort of a hokey carnival feel despite being plugged in. But I like the feeling of people wasted, slugging back beers, taking who knows what, and jamming through a great song on a summer day in the village. And I’ve grown to really love the sound of Lou, almost annoyed that he has to do this at all, singing the song however the fuck he wants to.

    • I love both, but, yeah, I’m sure some years I favor one version and other years I lean the other way.

      As far as Lou sounding “annoyed,” I completely agree. I feel like he came out on stage with the attitude of “I can out punk any of you–and I don’t even need a guitar to do it.”

  3. raimundo

    I was sixteen when the album came out. Honestly, I didn’t know much more about VU than their name. I was working at a restaurant and a track (probably Sweet Jane) came on – and a coworker told me who it was, and I went and picked it up. I didn’t know that it was sacrilege. I just knew this was lyrically like nothing I’d ever heard, and I wore that mother out. I loved the music but did not miss the power of what he had to say. To me, a poet is a poet, whether his words are in print, calligraphy, or spray paint on a wall.

Leave a Reply

